Sixteen EMErald awards

The most outstanding work in business communication from across Europe and the Middle East was recognised on April 27, 2012 at the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC) annual EMErald Awards ceremony in London. Sixteen winners were announced representing a body of work that covered social media, internal communication and corporate social responsibility.

“The EMErald Awards are an opportunity for us to celebrate the creative approaches being taken to address communications challenges in our region,” explained Michael Ambjorn, Chair of IABC’s Europe/Middle East (EME) region. “We are continually impressed by the high quality of work we see from our industry every year, from emerging areas like social media and more traditional ones like employee communication. I congratulate all the winners on their achievement.”

Awards were presented to outstanding entries in the following categories:

Brand Communication
Rodney Jordan, Coca-Cola Enterprises (UK)
Petra Muth Zupanc, Pristop (Slovenia)

Community Relations
Marina Yarovikova, Fleishman-Hillard Vanguard (Russia)
Milana Simonic, Imelda Ogilvy (Slovenia)

Employee/Member Communication
Hilary Scarlett & Mike Pounsford, Couravel Limited (UK)
Anne McCormack, Anglo American (UK)
Timothy Buckley, AB Publishing (on behalf of The Post Office Ltd) (UK)
Rodney Jordan, Coca-Cola Enterprises (UK)

Marketing Communication
Mira Crešnar, Pristop (Slovenia)

Multi-audience Communication
Rodney Jordan, Coca-Cola Enterprises (UK)

Vita Kernel, Studio Kernel (Slovenia)

Social Media
Ursa Mancek, Zavarovalnica Triglav (Slovenia)
Igor Medved, Medis, d.o.o. (Slovenia)

Social Responsibility
Aleksander Salkic, Petrol (Slovenia)

Special Events
Ula Spindler, Black Pony (Slovenia)
Ula Spindler, Pristop (Slovenia)

The EMErald Awards are the regional recognition program within IABC’s international Gold Quill Awards program. All entries to Gold Quill from EME are automatically considered for a regional award. Entrants can submit work in one of 27 categories that cover the entire spectrum of the communications profession. The awards are run every year, with a submission deadline of early February.

“The Gold Quill and EMErald Awards are both a professional development and learning opportunity,” said Neil Griffiths, Director of Professional Development, IABC EME. “All entries are judged by leaders from the business communication field according to IABC’s global standard for excellence in communication. The feedback entrants receive, whether they win or lose, is a rare occasion for constructive evaluation of their work.”

Published by